5 Questions with Malik Ferraud

Earlier this week I did a mixtape review for “Damn” by Malik Ferraud. Malik Ferraud is  Baltimore rapper who has gone through some tough times in his life, and he decided to talk about that and his music with me.

1. You can tell from listening to your music that you’ve been through some major struggles through your life. What’s growing up in Baltimore been like for you?

MF: Baltimore has been a blessing and a curse. The ‘crab in a barrel’ mentality is really active out here as far as the music scene goes. In other words nobody wants to see the next person succeed or climb to the top and when you’re just about to make that happen or attempt to make it happen you can expect someone trying to pull you back down to the bottom to fail. At the same time though Baltimore has been a blessing. Baltimore breeds true talent. There are so many artists, producers, video directors, and photographers in this city that are yet to be discovered who are always willing to work. It’s motivating to be apart of a city that has yet to have mainstream hiphop success in the industry because it fuels your hunger to be the one to do it but, at the same time most places and music tastemakers overlook our city so it can be really tough to get your music heard or even noticed just because your from Baltimore. Outside of the music scene Baltimore is similar to any other inner city.

2. Would you say that your experiences have helped you making music?

MF: I would say my experiences have definitely kept me motivated, focused, and determined to do anything I can to have my music reach people outside of this city and within this city so I can be heard.

3. Who have been some of your musical influences?

MF: Nas, Jay-z, Kanye West, Big L, Tupac, Jimi Hendrix, Bob Marley, Andre 3000, Lauryn Hill, Jim Morrison, Pink Floyd, the list could go on and on and on. My musical influences are really diverse.

4. How do you try and express yourself through your music?

MF: I just do me at all times. I never focus on the most popular trend in music or what everyone else is listening to. Being a perfectionist helps, I take alot of time to write quality material that I feel like can relate to someone in some kind of way. I do my best to express myself vocally in as many ways as possible to have the listener feel a certain way whether its rapping, singing, or even dropping a few ad-libs for people to remember.

5. What’s coming next for Malik Ferraud?

MF: Success. Nothing short of greatness. I’m only going to get better because I’m never going to stop. Expect better music, more music videos, and many projects/albums to come!

You can listen to music from Malik at http://www.MalikFerraud.com or listen to his mixtape, “Damn” at datpiff.

Leave a Reply

