Snoop Dogg changes name to Snoop Lion; will reinvent himself with reggae music

There has been plenty of name changes in music and even sports in the past, but the news that Snoop Dogg had decided to change his name to Snoop Lion came out of nowhere.

Snoop says that he’s doing this as a spiritual reinventing while also saying that rap is no longer difficult and that reggae music will be something new to do for him with producer Diplo. I’ve never been a huge fan of Snoop so I could really care less about this, but I find it funny that he took a funny name and made it even more hilarious. Oh, and this statement he said about him being like Bob Marley.

“I have always said I was Bob Marley reincarnated.” He added, “I feel I have always been a Rastafari. I just didn’t have my third eye open, but its wide open right now.”

While this is all very funny and probably won’t last long, he did have some interesting things to say about him and the rap game.

“Rap is not a challenge to me. I had enough of that. It’s not appealing to me no more. I don’t have no challenges. I’m ‘Uncle Snoop’ in rap. When you get to be an uncle, you need to find a new profession so you can start over and be fresh again. I want to be a kid again.”

Have fun with the Reggae album Snoop. I’ll pass on that one.

Leave a Reply

