Lil Wayne says his Skateboarding life has put rap to the side

Lil Wayne hasn’t released an album since August 29th of last year, and hasn’t released a good album since 2008. While he has announced that he will be releasing another mixtape “Dedication 4” sometime soon, there isn’t much news on a new Wayne album. In an interview with DJ Drama, Wayne explained why we haven’t seen much of him recently.

“I picked up the skateboard and I thought it would be a hobby, but it’s a lifestyle,” He said. “You have to be fully committed. In order to be fully committed, you have to live that lifestyle. What these young kids say right now—you have to be about that life. I guess I’m about that life. It’s kinda of putting rap on the backburner, that’s all. Rap is a taking backseat to skating. I deserve that.”

Right Wayne, what the kids say. It’s Wayne’s choice if he wants to put his career on the backburner because we all know that he has enough money to get by. His “skating career” isn’t the only reason he’s slowed down though.

Yeah, it does get pretty boring when it comes to just the rapping and all that type of stuff,” he told Drama. “I’ve done so much of it. I’ve been doing it since I was eight. I’m about to be 30 in September and I’m still rapping, so I kinda feel like I’m getting old.”

Either way, we’ll see how much Wayne is committed when he drops “Dedication 4” sometime soon. If he is, it could be pretty good. If not? It could be another brutal one.

Leave a Reply

