New Music: DJ Khaled drops 3 tracks with plenty of features; from Kendrick Lamar to Lil Wayne

Really, I’m not very sure what DJ Khaled actually does except yell on tracks and get other rappers to make money for him. I really don’t care though, because he does bring tons of collabs like he will on his upcoming album “Kiss the Ring” set to drop on August 21st.

He decided yesterday, though, to drop three of the tracks from the album. The first was “They Ready” ft J.Cole, Big K.R.I.T and Kendrick Lamar. While some people just throw collabs together, I think Khaled actually puts thought into who goes with who. This song is great and Cole, K.R.I.T and especially Kendrick Lamar really bring it on this song.

The second track was “I did it for my dawgs” ft Rick Ross, Meek Mill, French Montana and Jadakiss. Remember when I said that he knows how to put the right collabs together? Well he did it again on this song, except it’s not good because none of these rappers are really that great. I like Meek Mill and think his verse was the only one that I even kinda liked. I’m not a big fan of the chorus on it either.

The final track released was “Bitches and Bottles” ft T.I, Lil Wayne and Future. I wasn’t sure about this southern heavy collab, but I think T.I sounded like early T.I. It’s not the best song lyrically, but I like it. Wayne wasn’t strong, but it was bearable.

DJ Khaled tracks are usually hit or miss, and that’s what I felt like with these songs. It definitley gets me a little excited for “Kiss the Ring” though, on August 21st. Some of the other collabs to expect are Big Sean, Nas, Wale, 2 Chainz and Wiz Khalifa.

Leave a Reply

