Album Review: Based on a T.R.U Story by 2 Chainz

For the past couple of months, we’ve heard 2 Chainz jump on song after song and deliver guest features. “Beez in the trap” with Nicki Minaj. “Mercy” with Kanye West. In the past week, he jumped onto a track with Ciara. Guest features are always good, but it’s a whole different game when you have to make your own songs.

Leading up to the album release, we heard the big singles that also had big features. “No Lie” with Drake and “Birthday Song” with Kanye West were both good, and they come at the beginning of this album. That’s still not 2 Chainz by himself though.

He brings a lot of features to “Based on a T.R.U Story” and I find myself preferring them to him almost every time. The Dream, Mike Posner, Nicki Minaj and Lil Wayne all also make guest features on the album.

It’s not that 2 Chainz’ raps are awful, but they aren’t good. Another problem is that I find almost all of the songs sounding like the same thing with a different beat. 2 Chainz doesn’t bring a lot of lyrically, and you’re pretty much getting the same sound on every track.

The good thing is, I didn’t really have high expectations for this album anyway. I knew what I was getting from 2 Chainz, but I listened to it anyway. It’s exactly what I expected, and that’s fine. I’ll still listen to him when he’s on a feature, but 2 Chainz by himself just isn’t worth it from what I heard on this album.

Album Rating: 2 out of 5
Best Song: No Lie ft Drake

2 Responses to Album Review: Based on a T.R.U Story by 2 Chainz

  1. David says:

    I dig your reviews and what your doing on the blog. You have a fresh ear for hip hop and seem to be very knowledgable on the subject. Keep at it! If your ever looking to collaborate on a project, drop me a line. I just started a hip hop project of my own. LiftingSpit.com. Check it out some time! In the mean time, stay hungry and stay foolish. Peace!

    • stephenchott says:

      Thanks a lot man, I appreciate it. Checked out your site too. Gonna have to look at it a little deeper later cause your writing about a lot of people there I’ve never heard of haha keep it up.

Leave a Reply

